Paper Towels: How to Deal

Occasionally in life coincidences–synchronicities–run rampant.
This is the case of my past eight days.

Eight days ago, as I walked to my car with my cousin, I noticed a dead bird sticking out, head first, of the grill of my car.
Confused, amused, and disgusted, I recalled the bird in the road the day before who I didn’t see fly away, nor did I see feathers fly.
Apparently it’s because he decided to lodge himself in my car.
It required removal via shovel (and let me tell you, it was very stuck).

Two mornings after the bird removal, I awaken at the home where I am house sitting.
I walk into the bathroom and notice something on the floor.
Ah, um, what?
Yes, that is a mouse head with one beady eye looking up at me.
And next to it?  Another body part.
Gross.
I traipse off to get something to clean with–preparing myself for the awful task ahead–when my foot steps on something wet.
I scream and jump away…those are the mouse’s organs.
I’ll cut to the chase and say I cleaned up mouse parts from four parts of the house and cat vomit.

That night, while feeding the dog, I peer at something that looks like an animal had an accident in the basement.
Startled with a minor heart attack, it was only a toad.

With a day break in between, Thursday night I look out the back door to find the cat…and something behind him.
A rabbit.  The bunny moved, the cat jumped on it.  I banged on the door, opened the door, yelled at the cat, tried to chase the cat off (you know, in hopes the poor bunny would have a chance to get away)…to no avail.
Long story short–I found a rabbit foot, head, body, and innards on the back porch in the morning.
And no hawk or snake was considerate enough to remove it for me during the day.
Therefore, last night, after a very long day, I sling-shot the bunny from the snow shovel into the woods–only to see the cat coming towards me immediately after.
Irony.

The current moral to the story: Kirsten is practicing for a world where there aren’t people to help clean up the gross stuff.  And screaming is okay when there is no one to hear you.

And, we won’t tell the environmentalists how many paper towels I used in the mouse clean-up…

Leave a comment